Webinar: ClosureTurf® 101

Topic: ClosureTurf 101
Date: Thursday, March 29, 2017
Time 1: 9:00am PDT / 11:00am CDT / 12:00pm EST
Time 2: 12:00pm PDT / 2:00pm CDT / 3:00pm EST
Instructions: Login information will be provided prior to webinar

Questions: info@agruamerica.com

With a 50% faster installation rate, an 80% reduced carbon footprint, and a 90% reduction in annual maintenance costs per acre each year, ClosureTurf has built a reputation of excellence as a proven final closure solution. To introduce ClosureTurf to a wider audience, AGRU America has partnered with Watershed Geo, the makers of the patented product, to provide ClosureTurf 101. This new crash course webinar is designed for engineers and includes all the essentials to understand how ClosureTurf is made, its applications and benefits, and how engineers can begin working with the product.

During the webinar, you will:

  • Be introduced to ClosureTurf and learn about the different components that go into making the product.
  • Learn about practical ClosureTurf applications and its historical performance in a number of project case studies.
  • Discover ideas on how to use and design with ClosureTurf.
  • Learn about AGRU’s quality control standards, accreditations, and testing.
  • Gain a better understanding of ClosureTurf®, a product manufactured in partnership with Watershed Geo.
  • Have your questions answered live.

This webinar will last for approximately 60 minutes with 20 minutes of Q&A.


Christopher M. Richgels, PE
Mr. Richgels is the Western Region Engineer for AGRU America. He earned a bachelor’s degree in Civil Engineering from San Jose State University in 1987. He is a registered Civil Engineer with the State of California and has over 24 years’ experience in private and public solid waste engineering. Early in his career, Mr. Richgels served as the Facilities and Engineering manager for the Sacramento County Department of Waste Management and Recycling for 12 years. His primary responsibility there was the operation and regulatory compliance of the department’s Kiefer Landfill—an annual $20 million operation that first opened in 1967. Since then, he has published several technical papers and has presented to organizations such as SWANA, ASCE, Geosynthetics, Global Waste Management Symposium, and the SWANA Landfill Symposium. Most recently, Mr. Richgels has prepared landfill closures, facility designs, and hazardous waste containment projects as a private sector consultant. In 2013, he designed the first final cover system in California using a purely geosynthetic final cover system—ClosureTurf—for the Crazy Horse Landfill closure near Salinas, California.